Skip to content
Home » 2008 World Fantasy Award Winners

2008 World Fantasy Award Winners

Fantasy Art - Edward Miller - The Lies of Locke LamoraThe 2008 World Fantasy Award winners have been announced. The awards include the following categories in fantasy writing and fantasy art: Novel, Novella, Short Story, Anthology, Artist, and Collection.

*winnerYsabel Guy Gavriel Kay [Viking Canada/Penguin Roc]
Territory Emma Bull [Tor]
Fangland John Marks [Penguin Press] 
Gospel of the Knife Will Shetterly [Tor] 
The Servants Michael Marshall Smith [Earthling Publications]

*winnerIllyria Elizabeth Hand [PS Publishing] 
The Mermaids Robert Edric [PS Publishing] 
“The Master Miller’s Tale” Ian R. MacLeod [F&SF May 2007] 
“Cold Snap” Kim Newman [The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club, MonkeyBrain Books]
“Stars Seen through Stone” Lucius Shepard [F&SF July 2007]

Short Story
*winner – “Singing of Mount Abora” Theodora Goss [Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra] 
“The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics” Daniel Abraham [Logorrhea, Bantam Spectra] 
“The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs of North Park After the Change” Kij Johnson [The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales, Viking]
“Damned if you Don’t ” Robert Shearman” [Tiny Deaths, Comma Press]
“The Church on the Island” Simon Kurt Unsworth [At Ease with the Dead, 
Ash-Tree Press]

*winnerInferno: New Tales of Terror and the Supernatural Ellen Datlow, Editor [Tor]
Five Strokes to Midnight Gary A. Braunbeck & Hank Schwaeble, Eds. [Haunted Pelican Press] 
Wizards: Magical Tales From The Masters of Modern Fantasy 
Jack Dann & Gardner Dozois, Eds. [Berkley] 
The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, Eds.[Viking] 
Logorrhea: Good Words Make Good Stories John Klima, Editor [Bantam Spectra]

*winner – Tiny Deaths Robert Shearman [Comma Press] 
Plots and Misadventures Stephen Gallagher [Subterranean Press] 
Portable Childhoods Ellen Klages [Tachyon Publications]
The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club Kim Newman [MonkeyBrain Books]
Hart & Boot & Other Stories Tim Pratt [Night Shade Books] 
Dagger Key and Other Stories Lucius Shepard [PS Publishing]

*winnerEdward Miller
Ruan Jia
Mikko Kinnunen
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio

*the above image is from fantasy artist winner Edward Miller

2 thoughts on “2008 World Fantasy Award Winners”

  1. Huh. Ysabel is by no means the best of GGK’s works and some of his better books have been only nominated. Well, he deserves to win in any case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Anti-Spam by WP-SpamShield